2010 ESA John Henry Comstock Award presented to Trout-Fryxell

Becky TroutRebecca Trout-Fryxell is a 2010 recipient of the Entomology Society of America John Henry Comstock Award. She is receiving this award for being one of the most outstanding doctoral students in the Entomological Society of America.

She completed her Doctor of Philosophy this spring in the department of entomology under the guidance of emeritus professor C. Dayton Steelman and associate professor Allen Szalanski. Her doctoral research was on population genetics of ticks and bacterial pathogens vectored by ticks in Arkansas. She is the second student in the department of entomology to receive this prestigious award in the past five years.

Trout-Fryxell was also the 2010 recipient of the University of Arkansas Aubrey E. Harvey Award, which is awarded for the graduate student who has performed the most outstanding research on the Fayetteville campus during the preceding year.

She is currently a postdoctoral research associate at the University of California-Davis working on mosquito population genetics.

The department of entomology is in the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences.